post image

On November 2, 2017 CMS published the 2018 Quality Payment Program Final Rule. There are a number of changes from the 2017 “transition year”. While there will be more to come, to kick off the discussion we’ve listed 5 important highlights all anesthesia practices should know.

  1. The maximum penalty for the 2018 performance year is increased to -5% of 2020 Medicare part B reimbursements.
  2. The Low Volume Threshold has been increased to include any clinician that has less than or equal to 90,000 in reimbursements or less than or equal to 200 Medicare beneficiaries during the evaluation period.
  3. The minimum reporting period for the Quality Category has been increased to 12 months and the measure reporting threshold has also been increased to 60% of eligible patients.
  4. Advancing Care Information performance category exemptions remain for hospital-based and non-patient facing clinicians and a retroactive exemption was added for clinicians based at ambulatory surgery centers (ASC) dating back to the current Transition year.
  5. The minimum performance threshold to avoid the maximum penalty was increased to 15 points.

abeo will continue to provide updates and insights to our clients and the anesthesia community as we navigate through the 2,000 page final ruling.  Should you have any questions on the impact to your specific practice please contact your abeo Client Services Manager.

Update: Check out the full 2018 Quality Payment Program Overview published December 12, 2017.


abeo Management Corporation (abeo) serves as a leading source of revenue cycle management and practice management with a specialization in anesthesia. The company leverages its people, processes, and software to serve independent practices, surgery centers, hospitals and healthcare systems with a scope of services that include billing, coding, transcription, practice management, and business consulting.

Join Our Newsletter